The Hot Spring Tubs and Pool are currently closed due to plumbing issues that are being addressed. We will provide an update as soon as we can.

We use cookies to improve your browsing experience on our website, analyze site traffic and personalize content. By closing the message or continuing to browse this site, you agree to the use of cookies as explained in our Privacy Policy.

Skip to main content

david walleys resort

David Walley's ResortRental Guest Reviews

3.9/5 

(198 reviews) 

powered by 

Each review and rating we receive is verified to ensure that we display only information provided by guests who have actually stayed at the resort. Write a Review

Dixon 2

November 30, 2019

Love the location

We like David Walley's and have stayed before. We come for the Thanksgiving buffet and stay 3 days. But beware, this time after reserving the one bedroom villa, they called the day before we left and downgraded us to a studio room. I was not happy at all!!. I was so looking forward to a fireplace with the snowy, cold weather outside. They also charge you to use the thermal pools but because of their "over booking error" they gave my husband a pass to use during our stay. Thank goodness our friends did not go with us....David Walley would have had to put us up in 2 rooms instead of one.

Yes, I recommend this property.

Charlie123

December 1, 2019

Bad customer service

Bad customer service . Said one thing but when we got there its was totally different. There is so much i can say but the main thing is BE AWARE they are just trying to lure you in and when you get to this hotel which is located in the middle of no where you almost have no choice but to staying there! Make sure you have everything recorded. Thanks!

No, I do not recommend this property.

JohnC

December 1, 2019

Great place to stay

My wife and I went on her pre-birthday get away to relax. Our stay was mostly awesome except a few things. Some kinks need to be worked out or maybe just the luck of the draw for the minor issues we faced. The facilities were beautiful and relaxing. I would recommend this place to everyone.

Yes, I recommend this property.

hockey44

November 17, 2019

Tahoe

The room was great! Very comfortable and clean. Staff didn't know if we could use the hot springs or the cost if it wasn't included in the room. Would be nice to know before coming that the springs are extra. Found out it was $55 per person and half of the springs were under construction. Maybe if it was discovered for people staying at the resort or at least discounted while under construction. Restaurant staff made it pretty clear that they didn't want a family eating there and said we needed a reservation and it was only half full. Front desk didn't tell us we needed a reservation. Again I wouldn't mind if they told us up front. The bar/ lounge area didn't wasn't very accommodating either for families. Which is fine but I was told otherwise by staff. It is a beautiful location and facilities just wish they were a little more transparent and informative from the beginning, then I could have planned better for trip.

RCBenutty

November 21, 2019

Great Birthday experience!

We found this cozy spot for a birthday celebration, and it was exactly what we were looking for! The resort has all the activities we love: Pool Table, DVDs to rent, Sauna and spacious rooms! The hot springs were incredibly relaxing

Yes, I recommend this property.

RJenn

November 17, 2019

Very disappointing

Don’t waste your money on the hot springs, at least not until they are all working. There were only 2 hot springs tubs functioning so it was extremely crowded, caution tape all over the place, kids screaming and playing - and we were forced to prepay $55 per person for this. I couldn’t book online or over the phone without pre-paying for it. I wouldn’t pay $10 for that!! We are local and that was really the only reason we were staying here, so it was extremely disappointing. Front desk staff was aloof, both at check-in and check-out. They seem to cater more to guests staying for the week. If you’re only staying 1 night, you’re basically treated like an inconvenience. We were not told about any of the amenities, times, etc. Had requested a room with a view but was given a room looking at the parking lot/check in area. Called to inquire about an early check-in and was told they would call me, they never did. Overall a very poor experience. If the hot springs were great I could overlook everything else, but they were the biggest disappointment.

No, I do not recommend this property.

Genoa Roots

November 4, 2019

noisy room

A few of the rooms are adjacent to housekeeping areas and the noise from ventilation or other machinery was awful. Our room sounded as if it was near a jet engine! We were offered another room and it was fine. We have been guests of Walleys for YEARS. My family has roots in the area since the 1800s. My grandmother was born in Genoa, nearby. Since the merger/takeover with Holiday Inn, it has been a disaster. The small cafe for breakfast was closed (being remodeled though no mention made during reservation process). The wait staff in the 1862 dining room were all new and the service was mediocre at best when there were few other diners. Perhaps this once cool spot will regain it's glory, but if you are seeking something more than basic lodging, Go elsewhere.

No, I do not recommend this property.

LandS

November 1, 2019

Rough going

I would guess at one time Wally’s was a family resort that people enjoyed. However going corporate hasn’t done it any favors. Reservations were misleading and didn’t disclose that half of the resort was under construction. Our stay was extremely disappointing.

No, I do not recommend this property.

October 30, 2019

Nice studio condo, poor amenities and service

The room itself was quite nice and rustic, however, I received a room with a locked access door to another condo and there seemed to be no dampening of sound between the condos as I could easily hear everything happening in the next condo as well as see light coming through gaps on all four sides of the door. The free pool was closed for the season which was understandable but the hot-tubs were also closed which was unfortunate as the alternative was to use the developed Hot Springs which the property was known for. Access to use these amenities was $50.00 for one day and and half of the springs were closed for construction. A discount would have been nice for the construction or even for IHG status, but unfortunately this appears to be an IHG property in name only.

No, I do not recommend this property.

Joni

October 22, 2019

Disappointed

Given NO advanced notice, when i arrived @ david wallys resort i was advised only 1 of the jacuzzi tubs were in working order. During my 3 night stay, i did NOT see one staff member monitoring the pool/jacuzzi area. Maximum capacity

Yes, I recommend this property.