We use cookies to improve your browsing experience on our website, analyze site traffic and personalize content. By closing the message or continuing to browse this site, you agree to the use of cookies as explained in our Privacy Policy.

Skip to main content

galveston beach resort

Galveston Beach ResortRental Guest Reviews

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

4.5/5 

(1,309 reviews) 

powered by 

Each review and rating we receive is verified to ensure that we display only information provided by guests who have actually stayed at the resort. Write a Review

cmd2016

March 12, 2016

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

good value for the price.

There are very few hotels on Galveston Island that are located right on the beach. This resort had everything - Nicely appointed and good sized suites, clean and well kept common areas and a very short walk to the beach. I would stay here again.

Yes, I recommend this property.

bend442

March 5, 2016

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Great experience

The hotel was a great place to stay if you are in the Galveston area. It is located away from the "downtown" area by a few miles or so - so the environment at this hotel is more relaxed. Sandy (at the front desk) is one of the best front desk people I have had the pleasure of dealing with ......... she is a definite asset to IHG.

Yes, I recommend this property.

nikkistation

March 6, 2016

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Great Location

We loved the quiet beach location and enjoyed the hot tub. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was beautiful, but it did have an awful smell like fish which we just chalked up to being beside the ocean. Overall, we enjoyed the visit.

Yes, I recommend this property.

Catalyst1977

March 7, 2016

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Does Spire Elite points mean anything?

I'm a Spire member and spend much time away from family throughout the year. When I used points for this hotel I was hoping for a better room experience than a confined "hostel". Pro's: Staff is very kind and the amenities are also very nice indeed. My family enjoyed the pool/spa, easy beach access and family movie night. Negatives: BEWARE if you receive a "B Side" room. The room is a confined triangular room very similar to a tiny "hostel" and has very thin walls #hear lots of noise!#. I was very disappointed that Holiday inn would even have a room like this available to a rewards member, much less a Spire #Does Spire mean anything?# I approached the manager and received a canned response. I wouldn't suggest this place to any members using points to reward their family.

No, I do not recommend this property.

ILovethebeach2016

March 6, 2016

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

On the beach

I truly enjoyed my stay at the Holiday In Club Vacations. This hotel is a great choice for a weekend getaway or a family vacation.

Yes, I recommend this property.

cruiseguy

February 21, 2016

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

LOVE THIS PLACE!!!

This is a great place to Relax and we Love bring our Family and Friends here!

Yes, I recommend this property.

rhoover

February 28, 2016

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Great Potential But Tons of Issues

We booked this trip online after reading lots of great reviews, and we read that if you call and specify a preference you'll be accommodated to the best of their ability for your room selection (We asked for high floor and noted that we were celebrating my Wife's birthday for this trip). During this call we mentioned we would be arriving late 9 or 10pm, and we were told by the lady on the phone that the resort check-in closed at 8pm and there would only be security there but they couldn't really check you in. So my wife and I both had to take extra time off of work to accommodate and arrive on time. We hurry and rush to the hotel to find out there are actually staff until 11 and then after that there's security who can still check you in. (This is strike 1). We finally get checked in to get a room on the second floor out of 5, well this isn't a high floor but since it's not on ground level we'll give this a wash and not a full strike. We get settled and into the room and open our doors and get the nice ocean sound. We had an east facing king room (E25A) so in the morning we watched the sunrise from our balcony, we got ready and were heading out the door when we noticed a cockroach next to our coffeemaker on the counters, we promptly tell the front desk staff about the cockroach and they agree to move us into another room once one becomes available. About an hour later we get a call with a room, E31 with an awesome view of the road, we politely decline as being downgraded in quality of view when there was a roach in our room was not something we were going to agree with. (Strike 2) We told them to call us when something else comes up and they called a couple hours later with E35A, our previous room but a floor higher and we obliged, we moved our stuff unpacked and went about our day and that evening went to use the jacuzzi tub (which worked in E25A) to find out it didn't actually work and the jets were just for looks (strike 3). I really don't think getting a downgrade in view, or a not fully working room on an issue with the resort is an acceptable resolution to the problem. The manager did offer some extra IHG points to help alleviate the issue. Another concern was that people were allowed to smoke on the pool patio, my son can not be around cigarette smoke so it completely make the entire pool area unusable as there multiple guests smoking. This vacation club property was definitely lacking in the quality of staff and recognition that I'm accustomed to with IHG properties, there was no recognition of club membership or status, the front desk staff often didn't have answers for questions and seemed very apathetic around the issues we had and questions and concerns that were asked. I would only stay at this resort again based on the location but everything else really makes me not want to come back.

marcinnh

February 26, 2016

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Fun in Galveston

Overall, our experience at the hotel was great. The staff is very friendly and helpful, our room (1 bedroom suite) was a good size and even the queen sofa sleeper had a pillow top. The pool was heated and our kids spent most of the day in it while we visited. It was great to just walk down a boardwalk to the beach and not have to cross the road like the seawall area. We'll definitely be coming back.

Yes, I recommend this property.

kgm1

February 13, 2016

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

wonderful experience

we stayed recently in February. Beautiful weather and extremely nice staff. I am sure things are crazier in the warmer months but our experience was great!

Yes, I recommend this property.

Walrus777

February 19, 2016

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

My Stay

Elevator seemed like a utility elevator. Room needed repairs. Reservations did not know what they were doing. Manager messed up to when trying to fix.

No, I do not recommend this property.