We use cookies to improve your browsing experience on our website, analyze site traffic and personalize content. By closing the message or continuing to browse this site, you agree to the use of cookies as explained in our Privacy Policy.

Skip to main content

lake geneva

Lake Geneva ResortRental Guest Reviews

4.2/5 

(569 reviews) 

powered by 

Each review and rating we receive is verified to ensure that we display only information provided by guests who have actually stayed at the resort. Write a Review

volleyball mom 28

June 16, 2018

just okay

Our stay was a Thursday-Saturday for a wedding on the property. Check-in was average, I had to ask about using the Grand Geneva Resort amenities, like where things were located even though when we were checking in she specifically asked if this was our first time at the resort. Our villa was on the first floor, which was perfect but we were close to the elevator which you could hear going off at all hours(which is a specific room preference on the reservation). A couple of other cons during our stay were the set up of the room, the door opens directly into the main bedroom, which was strange and inconvenient for people in our party that wanted to sleep in versus those who wanted to get up and go early. We had to call down for extra towels, the room only had 2 sets when we arrived even though our reservation had 4 people in the room. The "blackout blinds" are definitely not, the curtains in the main living area were but the ones in the bedroom weren't. Daily room service is available at a cost, but I found that out while reading the paperwork I was handed at check-in, I'm fine not having my bed made daily but having the trash taken away would have been nice and this was also not mentioned at check-in. And then we realized once we had unpacked that we had been put into an accessible room(shower and all), which I didn't need nor request and my entire family felt terrible when we saw another family pull up directly in front of our unit and unload someone in a wheelchair. Pros- the room was clean when we arrived. Overall it was just an average stay and I don't think I would return.

No, I do not recommend this property.

Judy78

June 8, 2018

Lovely room and very comfortable

I loved the Grand Geneva Hotel but did not like being in the Holiday Inn, not because there was something wrong with the Inn, but the proximity of the Holiday Inn. It was a car ride from the Grand Geneva to the Holiday Inn and totally isolated of any staff all day and all night. If you wanted to go out for a drink in the lounge, you had to drive to the Hotel. But, the hotel was a wonderful place to be for everything, food, fun, beauty, great service.

No, I do not recommend this property.

Mark

June 5, 2018

Great Room

Lovely suite that overlooked the golf course. Also, had an in room washer and dryer. Very quiet and comfortable bed. Near Lake Geneva which has an excellent walking path along the lake.

Yes, I recommend this property.

Loved holiday inns

June 3, 2018

Bed hard

Everything was awesome except the bed was hard I always stay at holiday inns because beds are comfortable not the case here

No, I do not recommend this property.

MikeAndSteen

June 3, 2018

Mixed Bag

This is one of my first stays at a HI Resort. We chose it because of its proximity to where I was working and because we had a wedding in a nearby city. Price was reasonable with corporate discount, but not what we expected. The amenities described indicated indoor and outdoor pools but the outdoor pool was a bit of a walk, and the weather was too cool to use. We would have needed to drive to the resort next door. Also, it was difficult to figure out where to check in. The sign indicated to check in at the main lodge of the neighboring resort, but signs were difficult to follow. Eventually called the resort and the person who answered couldn't explain what to do. Eventually found our way in check-in was easy. I was not welcomed or acknowledged as a priority club member, likely because employees were not HI employees. Room was ok, but the landscaping and exterior could have been better. Tons of weeds and overgrown areas, including the outside patio area in view of golf course. Room was spacious and mostly clean although we found Doritos crumbs and plastic straw sleeve on floor. Bathroom had an inexpensive tissue box cover with a tag not only on it but visible. Not as nice as most IHG properties although it served our purpose this trip.

Yes, I recommend this property.

Maurice

May 27, 2018

Stay

Great hotel location and access, access to property could be better.

Yes, I recommend this property.

.ridicilous

May 23, 2018

General excellence

Title above tells alll. Hotel stay was excellent. Filling out this review was too cumbersome and time consuming. As well as too redundant

Jsd3456

May 18, 2018

Comfortable bed and great service.

- Avoid making customer service inquiries. Instead visit Customer Care or Contact Us for immediate attention - Refrain from mentioning competitors or the specific cost of your stay - Do not include any personally identifiable information, such as full names

AmyJo

May 18, 2018

Check in nightmare!

When I made the reservation for the two rooms for a conference at the Grand Geneva, the reservation defaulted to my husbands name. When I went to check in, I was told I could not get the rooms as my husbands name was on the reservation. They were rude and told me my husband would have to call IHG and authorize me to get the rooms. He then had to call the front desk and let them know he had called IHG. This was ridiculous!! It took over 1/2 hour to resolve. Bad experience!! After a long day at the conference, the last thing I wanted to do was deal with unfriendly front desk staff. The resort was very nice, the check in process was just awful. I felt that no one wanted to help me.

Seasoned IHG Member

May 13, 2018

Surprise Anniversary Party

Property is set back on a large scale resort, plenty of entertainment amenity options including a good sized water park for the kids of all ages on the property. Vast choice of local restaurants to suit all tastes. A Very nice upscale restaurant (with good food) on the property. Trolley Style Shuttle Buses will move you about the property. Resort is 15 min No. of IL. Border. 10 min to Beautiful Lake Geneva. Choose the Villa Suites, there Stunning W/Fireplace and Kitchen Living Room, top notch. Downfall was the booking nightmare to get the 2 bedroom Villa I wanted. On average years I stay on IHG properties over a hundred nights a year on business. So my insight has been earned. If your a IHG Rewards Member and want to use your points, Good Luck with the Black Out Dates during the numerous so called peak times. I've never experienced this level of booking issue with any IHG booking. But as I would find out, if your a paying customer, It remains vastly more simple to book and receive the room type you want. It's difficult to admit this point--- but this property is worth some patience and persistence should it be incurred. So I gave up and paid to get what was wanted.

Yes, I recommend this property.