We use cookies to improve your browsing experience on our website, analyze site traffic and personalize content. By closing the message or continuing to browse this site, you agree to the use of cookies as explained in our Privacy Policy.

Skip to main content

lake geneva

Lake Geneva ResortRental Guest Reviews

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

4.2/5 

(586 reviews) 

powered by 

Each review and rating we receive is verified to ensure that we display only information provided by guests who have actually stayed at the resort. Write a Review

MidwestFamily4

June 14, 2014

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Beautiful Disappointment

We stayed for a long weekend and really enjoyed the size of the rooms and the beauty of the area. Our only complaints about the HI experience were the soft and mushy beds, the uncomfortable sofa bed (even for our 10 year old son) and the lack of any perks for Platinum Elite members. No paper, no late check out, nothing. The rooms were pretty well-maintained and clean. We had a horrible dining experience in the Grand Geneva lobby bar around 8:30pm. All four meals were wrong (not what we ordered), and my salmon was bad (smelling and tasting) and the replacement salmon came out barely cooked. The waitress and manager were very apologetic and comped our entire meal which was nice, but the experience shook our confidence and desire to eat at the Grand Geneva again (we didn't). We've read other reviews and shared our story with friends that have had similar experiences. We are shocked that the Grand Geneva would not have outstanding food and service. It really needs to be fixed. Finally, the locker rooms by the Grand Geneva indoor pool are old and rusty. There was wet toilet paper all around the toilet in the men's locker room from an overflow. We saw two ladies that looked like they were cleaning staff spend about one minute in the women's locker room (at night) but they skipped the men's room completely. Maybe some men came and cleaned it after we left? The area is beautiful, and we would have loved to have loved our experience. The beds, food and pool are major reasons to stay at a resort, and we were disappointed. We did enjoy the beautiful surroundings.

No, I do not recommend this property.

nikinana

June 16, 2014

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Nice Resort Within a Resort!

Nice room overlooking golf course. Check in at Adjacent resort so felt more like apartment than a hotel, but was clean and adequate for my needs!

Yes, I recommend this property.

MEJA16

June 19, 2014

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Areas where improvement is needed

We got a senior discount which was appreciated, but we didn't like getting a handicapped room. The toilet was too high for a 4' 10" woman to use comfortably and we didn't like the shower either. My sister said the coffee maker was very slow and probably needed a good cleaning. Finally, even though there was a DVD player in the villa, no one seemed to know where we could rent a DVD. We were able to locate a Redbox on our own, but someone should have been able to help us when we asked.

Yes, I recommend this property.

dopey62

June 15, 2014

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

resort

amenities were too far away, weather was to cold for outdoor pool and a person with disabilities was to far to walk to indoor pool and to the resturants. To far away from downtown and the cost was way too high for nothing. I would not return to this resort in the future

No, I do not recommend this property.

debbie24292

June 8, 2014

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Wonderful Stay!

I was very happy with the room and how beautiful everything was. It was so quiet and peaceful.

Yes, I recommend this property.

Grrandma

June 15, 2014

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Weekend vacation

We had a great time and hope to stay longer next time1

Yes, I recommend this property.

June 14, 2014

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Beautiful Atmosphere, Not so great service

I am a rewards club member who has always had great experiences with Holiday Inn Suites. So the night before my destination wedding I decided to book an 8 person suite at the Holiday Inn Vacation Club in Lake Geneva, WI. The atmosphere was beautiful and the room was spacious, but the customer service left something to be desired. We did not get into the hotel until around Midnight, but we were unable to extend our check out time, which meant that my whole Bridal Party had to be out of the house by 10 am. I also had a bridesmaid with a medical condition which required a separate bed, I requested a roll away bed and was informed that the Resort did not provide such beds for the Express Hotel. Apparently, the check in desk is not affiliated with the Vacation Club but merely manages the property.

nherna

June 9, 2014

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Expected better value

PROS: really comfortable beds, awesome pillows, nice fireplace, washer and dryer in unit, full kitchen, close to pool, close to town, staff seemed friendly CONS: switched three rooms when first arrived, room floors were grimy, vacuumed up audible debris and visible dead bugs, daily killed little beetle type bugs throughout-walls, pillow, etc, pricy for cleanliness, staff was friendly but would have expected more given the disaster with our check-in, being sent to a dirty used room and having our very cranky, hungry, tired tot

Yes, I recommend this property.

OULis91

June 1, 2014

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Girls weekend!

I have traveled extensively and prefer to stay in a slightly larger room. My daughter and her friends are 16 and 17 and opted not to go to prom. They decided they would rather spend less money and still have a great weekend. My friend and I took 5 teenagers to this resort and reserved a two bedroom villa. Contrary to some other reviews, the staff at Grand Geneva was awesome. VERY friendly and accommodating. It is not far from the main lodge check in to the HI villas. The rooms were easy to find and huge. We had plenty of room. One night, we could here our neighbors, but it wasn't really a problem. We really hears them more than we did the girls.. One room had king bed, washer/dryer, bath, full fridge, mini stove, microwave, mini dishwasher, pullout, balcony and two tv's. 2nd room had a separate bedroom, bathroom and whirlpool tub, full kitchen, fireplace, balcony and two tvs. These rooms were adjoing so it was fantastic. Plenty of room for everyone. The resort is great. Ine evening they swam at the pool at the HI property. One morning they went to the stables in property and rose horses for $32. A really reasonable price. The town of Lake Geneva is a few minutes away, but an easy drive with plenty of parking. This laid back town is great, with lots to do for kids and adults. I would love to return with the guys. Golf was also readily accessible. Fantastic time. Thanks HHI Grand Geneva.

Yes, I recommend this property.

PaulD69

May 19, 2014

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

little pricey

we come here every year for an extended weekend to get away from the kids and grandkids. the bed was a little stiff this year and the price seemed to be a little higher but we had a great time otherwise. always real peaceful.

Yes, I recommend this property.