WarningPlease be advised that renovations to the hot springs and heated pool are ongoing through December 2022. Exact completion dates are to be determined. If you have any questions, please contact the resort at (775) 782-8155.

We use cookies to improve your browsing experience on our website, analyze site traffic and personalize content. By closing the message or continuing to browse this site, you agree to the use of cookies as explained in our Privacy Policy.

Skip to main content

david walleys resort

David Walley's ResortRental Guest Reviews

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

3.9/5 

(219 reviews) 

powered by 

Each review and rating we receive is verified to ensure that we display only information provided by guests who have actually stayed at the resort. Write a Review

Gaurav

May 31, 2021

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Simple hotel in the middle of nowhere

Not very convenient. At least 30 min away from Lake Tahoe if that is your destination. No breakfast option so have to drive to nearby towns for that. Very bad coffee in room. Decent room and bathrooms though not recently updated. Clean. Wifi just worked.

Yes, I recommend this property.

selind

May 16, 2021

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Great location

Fun location to be able to walk to Genoa Springs and imbibe at Nevada's Oldest Thirst Parlor! For historians, that alone is worth the visit. Game room provided hours of fun.

Yes, I recommend this property.

Mermaid Mandy

May 14, 2021

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Be prepared!

Everything closes early. The pool gets booked quickly and the day we were there was “maintenance… “ Really disappointed the hot springs are not open. The room was absolutely lovely. Very peaceful, quiet, everything we needed. No breakfast offered. All stores in town closed really early. Saloon hours 11-8pm. The hot springs around the wedding Gazebo is FILLED with plastic cups n trash.. would recommend someone take the time to clean it!!

Yes, I recommend this property.

Kristi

May 11, 2021

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Excellent stay

Will be back when the hot springs open and on a day that the restaurant is open (closed Mondays) so we didn't get to try the food aside from the marketplace.

Yes, I recommend this property.

Jason

May 8, 2021

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Pandemic trouble.

The only problem was the unavailability of the hot springs. I know they have to follow protocols in this time. But my hotel up in Tahoe was a third of the price.

Yes, I recommend this property.

Albino

May 3, 2021

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Weekend at Dave's

overall nice property, staff is great. Rooms clean and comfortable

Yes, I recommend this property.

Aviation Safety Guy

April 25, 2021

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

David Walley's Resort, Nevada

Nice location for outdoors activities. A bit remote but that is one of the intriguing things about the resort. Staff was excellent and helpful. Really appreciated the special rate for Government and Military--thank you.

Yes, I recommend this property.

Hal423

May 2, 2021

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Great weather with great location

Enjoyed our stay and will return in future, Excellent room,

Yes, I recommend this property.

Greenbeard

April 30, 2021

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Great Experience

Came for a wedding and fell in love with the hotel and area.

Yes, I recommend this property.

amokharp

April 30, 2021

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

A sublime little corner of the world.

This place is amazing, and I will be definitely be back. There is room for improvement in a couple areas, but let's talk about the good first. The rooms are well-appointed, clean, and comfortable. I stayed in a one-bedroom king, first level, with...a bit of a view of the Carson Valley. The bed and pillows were comfortable, the jetted tub was huge bonus, the fireplace was cozy in the chilly morning hours, the living/kitchen area was very spacious, and--while the view could have been better--the patio was nice. The front desk staff member that checked me in was very friendly and welcoming. The staff at the hot springs/market were also friendly, even while dealing with rude guests who refused to wear masks (she doesn't make the rules, dude). The hot spring pool was sublime--in the time of COVID, reservations were required, so myself and one other person had the pool to ourselves for the better part of a morning hour. The true winner at this resort, however, is the location. The birds are INCREDIBLE--a true sanctuary! Nestled against the Sierra Nevada mountain range, on the edge of the Carson Valley, this is truly one of the most beautiful corners on the eastside. The historic town of Genoa is less than two miles away on a well-paved path. Here's what could have been better with a few tweaks from management: Considering the above description (and relatively low occupancy), imagine my disappointment at being placed in a ground-level room with a view of the parking lot. I politely and humbly asked for a room on the valley side--the staff member (not the one who checked me in) was bristly at the request. She made it happen, but also made it clear that she wasn't happy to do it (and though she put me on the other side of the building, she also put me in a room that was mostly still looking at the parking lot). I get it--they probably get this all the time, and it probably gets old. A simple fix to this problem would be to offer different rooms at different price points--I would gladly pay for the view but the price tag was not appropriate for a ground-level parking lot view. The hot springs have one large pool and many small hot tubs. Only the pool was open "because COVID." Eh. I'm tired of the COVID excuse being used where not appropriate--the tubs could easily have been open with reservations. The amenities were lacking. There is a restaurant on site, but they don't serve breakfast. There is a market on site, but it had a very limited selection. A coffee bar would have solved the problem. Overall, it is a very cool resort. I will be back, but not without a phone call to assure a better view than Acuras and Fords!

Yes, I recommend this property.