WarningAs part of continued enhancements, construction is currently taking place at this resort. Guests may experience construction noises during the day.

We use cookies to improve your browsing experience on our website, analyze site traffic and personalize content. By closing the message or continuing to browse this site, you agree to the use of cookies as explained in our Privacy Policy.

Skip to main content

hill country resort

Hill Country Resort at Canyon LakeRental Guest Reviews

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

3.9/5 

(581 reviews) 

powered by 

Each review and rating we receive is verified to ensure that we display only information provided by guests who have actually stayed at the resort. Write a Review

guest

June 6, 2021

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Did not match the pictures or descriptions on website

Upon arrival we were greeted by a unit door left open by the cleaning staff, which did not feel safe. Also, there was a full bag of trash on the doorstep, with bloody towels in it. Once inside we discovered the unit was nothing like anything advertised on the website. All 2 bedroom rooms say they come with at least one King bed, it was 2 Queens. The pictures of the living areas were not even close to how small and outdated this one was. It smelled awful and when we opened the windows to air it out, the blinds dropped a bunch of dust and there were tons of bugs on the windowsills. One bedroom/bath only had a tub, so our friends in that room had to share our shower. The shower and tub both had stains and mold. The toilet was iffy that it would flush and it would spit water out of the bowl and onto the floor. Overall, it was just gross and outdated and we didn't feel comfortable to relax in it. The miniature golf course was nice and the bar had good drinks. The tennis court had a sagging net and the ping pong tables were warped. The arcade games stole our money. The pools are not what is pictured on the website. They were okay, but not as nice. Will not stay at any other Holiday Inn Club Vacation property.

No, I do not recommend this property.

Evelyn

May 31, 2021

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Over all good service

Only thing was we didn't have room service, when arrived, short on towels. The other first had there sheets in a bag in front of our room. Stayed their till then next day.

Yes, I recommend this property.

Caitlin

June 7, 2021

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Wonderful!

We booked a room very last minute and we’re not disappointed!! The only thing I would recommend is making sure to stay at the main property otherwise you have to shuttle/drive to access all of the amenities. The apartments were huge, nice kitchen (includes all kitchen necessities) beds were soft and luxurious. Jetted tub in the master was a plus! We will definitely visit again.

Yes, I recommend this property.

Leah

June 7, 2021

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Not the best get away

The entire check in approach is a bit distasteful. The room was underwhelming.

No, I do not recommend this property.

Coco

June 6, 2021

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Uncomfortable Weekend

I stayed in the ambassador. The room that we stayed in was infested with spiders and bugs.

No, I do not recommend this property.

Chrissi

May 22, 2021

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Relaxing and gorgeous views!

Everybody was so nice and accommodating. The room was gorgeous, the bed so comfy that we slept like babies. The hiking around the lake offered beautiful views of nature.

Yes, I recommend this property.

EMC²

June 5, 2021

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Outdated

This property has a great location but the actual rooms are so dated it's hard to take it seriously. The staff seem very confused at checkout and wanted to charge me though I was using points. Seemed very disorganized.

No, I do not recommend this property.

Arbster

June 5, 2021

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Terrible Everything

The place is run down, the sunset dinner is a joke so don’t waste your money unless you enjoy paying $150 for frozen Hungry Man dinner and a state fair corn dog. The sunset dinner setting and food quality was a complete JOKE. Room was a complete disaster and I just feel fortunate I didn’t fall through the shower floor each time I stepped into it. If your considering a stay in the area move along do t stay here !!!!

No, I do not recommend this property.

Willy

June 4, 2021

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

We slept very well in the bed. Comfortable.

We were Not very pleased with the quality of the room. Needs updating. The doors to the bedroom and bathroom would not stay open. Wanted to close on their own. When pulling up the switch to turn on the shower, water sprayed everywhere. The floor was soaking wet. We also found a dead roach in the kitchen under the cabinet.

No, I do not recommend this property.

JC01

June 3, 2021

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Excelente opción

Muy buen balance de calidad - precio , la ubicación es muy buena y las habitaciones muy confortables. Más si pides una visita al lago .

Yes, I recommend this property.