WarningAs part of continued enhancements, construction is currently taking place at this resort. Guests may experience construction noises during the day.

We use cookies to improve your browsing experience on our website, analyze site traffic and personalize content. By closing the message or continuing to browse this site, you agree to the use of cookies as explained in our Privacy Policy.

Skip to main content

hill country resort

Hill Country Resort at Canyon LakeRental Guest Reviews

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

3.9/5 

(498 reviews) 

powered by 

Each review and rating we receive is verified to ensure that we display only information provided by guests who have actually stayed at the resort. Write a Review

Aggieangel

June 6, 2020

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Bad service

We booked for 4 people- a 1 bedroom with foldout couch. Upon arrival we noticed there was no bedding at all for the couch bed. We called at 6pm and they said sure someone would be there to deliver it. At 9pm, still nothing. Called and they said sorry they gave them to a guy on a balcony hours ago (we didn’t have a balcony). Now housekeeping wasn’t there, so they’d call the maintenance guy to deliver. At 10:45, still nothing and our kids needed to get to sleep. Called and they said “oh sorry we will get them to you in 15 minutes.”Someone knocked, left the bedding at the door, and ran off at 11:55pm. Toilet squeaked the entire time but after all that with the bedding, we just dealt with it. Game room and mini golf completely closed because of Covid. Only 1 pool open and we were on the other side of the main road (had to drive to get to it).

Jclay

June 5, 2020

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Awful experience

Dead bugs all over were the first clue that the room had not been cleaned before we arrived. It had sat vacant for a while. The AC would not cool the room more than 74 degrees. The shower did not work. Called for maintenance four times before they sent someone to fix it, despite telling them we had an event to attend. Unable to shower before the event. Was told the pools were open but when we tried to use them, they were closed. Had to use pool at main building which is not in walking distance.

No, I do not recommend this property.

YaYa

March 15, 2020

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Family Fun

The property and rooms are great. My only drawback was the hard sell upon check in.

Yes, I recommend this property.

Sheri20

March 21, 2020

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Quiet location, 50 minutes from San Antonio

Recommend Canyon Lake for anyone looking for a quiet get away semi-close to San Antonio. Clean and quiet, well maintained.

Yes, I recommend this property.

TomEd

March 14, 2020

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Villa units were not the best

Put between the activity center and a very noisy high way. Had to turn up the TV volume to hear above the noise. Noisy bathroom fan had to be repaired. Toilet made noise frequently at night. Had the exterminator come in for roaches. Kitchenette was adequate. Putt Putt was good.

No, I do not recommend this property.

Firemanjoe73

March 11, 2020

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Kingwood Family

The facility was in great condition of the views are amazing. As a business traveler I feel that because of this there are small details that would make this a five-star resort. Power washing the walkways and outside balconies would add to the beauty of the facilities themselves. Working on updating or increasing the Wi-Fi signal in the guest rooms would be helpful for business travelers. The landscaping is not poor but with small detailed updates could add to an already beautiful location. It is a beautiful place and we will return again soon.

Yes, I recommend this property.

Carter

March 13, 2020

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Keep Driving......

If you’re looking for a great place to relax and enjoy some quality time with the family, this isn’t the place......Keep Driving! If you have a concern about the property, suite, room, pool, food or drunken adults terrorizing your children.....Keep Driving! This isn’t the place. The lack of professionalism that exist on this property is mind blowing. The inexperienced staff at the front desk may be able to hand you an ink pen to sign your agreement for an over priced stay but they aren’t able to communicate with their team to resolve issues and concerns. Lastly, the level of disrespect that the shuttle driver has for children is awful. As I signed in and signed my agreement a young lady about the age of 10 was inquiring about a shuttle back to her room from the lobby and he was so very rude and had that been my child you spoke to that way, we would have had words and we certainly would have gone to another hotel or resort.

No, I do not recommend this property.

WINKIE

March 27, 2020

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Canyon Lake Dreams

This is one of my favorite places in Texas to visit, and so glad I did during this time of the Pandemic situation. Was a spur of the moment experience and I am glad I jumped into it. The Hill Country area and all the wildlife to see was amazing. The rooms were comfortable, and the view was a dream on the 3rd floor. Wish I could have stayed one more night. Recommend this highly for another excursion.

Yes, I recommend this property.

Classy Chick

March 22, 2020

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Overview of stay

We were really pleased with our stay but due to the Covid19 restrictions, nothing was open so the kids had nothing to do. When I was contacted the night before my stay, I was informed that everything was open. This was only a mere inconvenience but I understand the reason. Our room was upgraded to the presidential suite and I thank you for this. We found things for kids to do so overall stay gets a 5/5.

Yes, I recommend this property.

Dave

March 17, 2020

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

A great place to stay close to SA

Great check-in experience with Brianna. A great range of amenities for large family gatherings and great value. Fully stocked kitchenette. Relatively close to attractions (driving distance).

Yes, I recommend this property.