WarningAs part of continued enhancements, construction is currently taking place at this resort. Guests may experience construction noises during the day.

We use cookies to improve your browsing experience on our website, analyze site traffic and personalize content. By closing the message or continuing to browse this site, you agree to the use of cookies as explained in our Privacy Policy.

Skip to main content

hill country resort

Hill Country Resort at Canyon LakeRental Guest Reviews

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

3.9/5 

(484 reviews) 

powered by 

Each review and rating we receive is verified to ensure that we display only information provided by guests who have actually stayed at the resort. Write a Review

BLinco

November 30, 2019

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

What a Dissappointment

We booked Hill Country Resort for Thanksgiving get-a-way. We have stayed in Silverleaf, now IHG, properties before and were expecting the same level of experience. Unfortunately, it was not. The unit smelled of cigarettes. We had dead crickets everywhere in our unit as well as a couple of live scorpions. Luckily I spotted the scorpion before it crawled in my shoe. The unit was worn and tired. The kitchen was covered in a fine grit as well as the shower and tub. The hot water wasn't. Ice maker didn't work, The dishwasher was falling apart. The kitchen countertops were split and worn. The units were up several flights of stairs, which was not explained when we booked. Also, the units were split level with all the bedrooms and bathrooms being up a flight of stairs and the kitchen/living down a flight of stairs from the entrance. We had kids running through the units after ten at night knocking on our door and running away. The staff was helpful and cheerful, but the facilities were worn. We attended the "pitch" to buy points for the facilities and tried to explain our trepidations. Let's just say they didn't like taking No for an answer. All in all, I would not stay here again, nor would I recommend it to my friends and family. Maybe to someone I don't care for but defiinitly not to someone I like.

No, I do not recommend this property.

Tonyd

November 3, 2019

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Great staff!

We loved the views from our room of the lake! The staff was very courteous and a pleasure to deal with.

Yes, I recommend this property.

Derek

October 28, 2019

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Great stay!

Very welcoming! Everyone was amazing and we will definitely be back!

Yes, I recommend this property.

randelB

October 20, 2019

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Family Down Time

Once or twice a year we as a family try to meet some where to just enjoy some down time. Turn the phones off, cook a nice meal and sit back and relax with the grandkids. The kids absolutely loved the fall activities and the staff was great. Can't wait to see which destination is next.

Yes, I recommend this property.

KimA137

October 20, 2019

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Feast of Tabernacle

We reserved two of your 3 bedroom villas for our yearly event - The Feast of Tabernacle. The space was large enough to have our daily bible study. We had more than enough bedrooms for everyone. The pool was near and very clean. The beds were so comfortable. The resort was beautiful. Easy access to the store. Everything was excellent except when we called for towels we didn't get the linen the same day. We called twice in one day and also called the next morning and the towels were delivered later that day. But overall we enjoyed our stay. Thanks

Yes, I recommend this property.

XXXX

October 13, 2019

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Poor choice for our weekend stay In hill country

Booked a weekend stay for a birthday get away and relaxation. Arrival was not pleasant, took 15 minutes to locate check in lobby. Our room was 1/4 mile from the main facility across a busy highway that splits the property. The lobby was so loud it hurt my head, literally. Turns out the property was a timeshare resort so we had to sit through that pitch. Our room was so far from the facility we didn't use any resort amenities. Local restaurants were more convenient. Overall the weekend was bad.

No, I do not recommend this property.

Gigi

October 20, 2019

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Great stay

Everything was great! The only reason it’s rated a 4 is because the beds were not real comfortable. Maybe a little upgrade would help. Other than that they exceeded my expectations!

Yes, I recommend this property.

Mike

October 20, 2019

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Poor condition of room.

Water in shower was not hot. Moldy smell in room. Too much traffic noise.

No, I do not recommend this property.

Nance64

October 20, 2019

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Good place to stay with lots of room

Traveling with a large crew can be problematic. Enjoyed the 2 separate rooms with living and kitchen. Plenty of quality spread out space.

Yes, I recommend this property.

June

October 13, 2019

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

TIME SHARE NOT PART OF MY VACATION PLANS

Beware of the time share junk they try to sell you when you are checking in. I like this hotel/resort as far as the rooms, location and views, BUT, the check in was HORRIBLE! The girl who checked us in was not friendly... being an IHG member we usually feel very welcomed at other hotels. This was like we were a burden and to make it worse, we asked if our 2 rooms could be placed close together as we only have 1 vehicle and were traveling with someone who had special needs. She told us the 2 villas were only one away from each other, however she did not check the building locations... we had to either hike stairs to get to each other or drive around the entire property... not convenient at all! So moving on from the front desk clerk to getting our vehicle tag is where the time share scam begins! This check in process caused us to be 30 minutes late to our concert in San Antonio!!!!! NOT HAPPY!! I think if a hotel wants to offer time share info it should be on a volunteer basis not a required procedure at check in.... Now the check out day began with housekeeping knocking on the door at 9:23 am... when check out is 10:00 am. I mean come on, if you already have a ridiculous check out time can they not just give you till then!!! It was sad that our 1st and last impression of this place were not positive at all because the room was a nice room, but negative seems to out weigh the positive

No, I do not recommend this property.