Due to anticipated high occupancy, Day Use benefits at Hill Country Resort are unavailable during the month of July.

The Texas winter storm caused significant damages to certain building exteriors and guest villas at our Hill Country Resort. As a result, availability has been reduced and guests visiting this resort may experience construction and restoration work taking place on-property during their stay. Please be advised that these changes will be in effect over the next several months.

We use cookies to improve your browsing experience on our website, analyze site traffic and personalize content. By closing the message or continuing to browse this site, you agree to the use of cookies as explained in our Privacy Policy.

Skip to main content

hill country resort

Hill Country ResortRental Guest Reviews

3.9/5 

(438 reviews) 

powered by 

Each review and rating we receive is verified to ensure that we display only information provided by guests who have actually stayed at the resort. Write a Review

Dwbell03

April 28, 2019

A little known secret

What a wonderful little hideaway. The place was great and relaxing. The view over the lake was so serene. I loved it.

Yes, I recommend this property.

Family Traveller

April 27, 2019

Great Stay

Our stay at Canyon Lake was enjoyable, we used this as a weekend getaway, and came away very pleased. The staff was friendly and helpful. The amenities were great, the kids didn't want to get out of the pool. And the room was clean and comfortable. We had a great time.

Yes, I recommend this property.

Texas Mom

April 28, 2019

Family group room is amazing!

My 2 sisters and my family all stayed here in their 3 bedroom suite. It was beautiful and comfortable. Enough room to give us space to unwind and relax with area big enough we could play games and eat together. Price was amazing compared to what you get at regular hotel. Worth the 30-45 drives to go do stuff. Lake was beautiful to look at and community was very nice.

Yes, I recommend this property.

Hplumber

April 28, 2019

Birthday Trip

My overall experience was great . But there was a few bumps in the road . The pull couch beds were very dirty an look as if they has urine stains on them. The kitchen was not well supplied an it should be an the dishes were not very clean . But the front desk an circuity office were wonderful. So we were still able to have a great time an will come back

Gone Girl

April 29, 2019

Great space for large family or family reunion

Our penthouse unit was perfect in every way. Large, spacious and well appointed gave everyone the privacy they needed. I would recommend this facility to anyone wanting a quiet getaway from the city. Loved our stay!

Yes, I recommend this property.

Wedding Guest

April 28, 2019

Disappointing

We came to stay here for a wedding in Wimberley and had no idea this was not a hotel. On the website is a beautiful white multi-story building and when we got there, the facility is very outdated, old building and very dingy and dirty. The booking website is very misleading.

No, I do not recommend this property.

Jj011572

bad Ester experience

I AM A SPIRE ELITE MEMBER AND WAS DISAPOINTED WITH THIS PLACE . ON THE WEBSITE THE PHOTOS LOOK AWESOME . WE GOT THERE AND THEY GAVE US A SMELLY ROOM WITH OLD CARPET AND OUTDATED FURNITURE. AFTE I HAD ALREADY SHOWED MY FAMILY WHERE WE WERE STAYING THEY WERE EXCITED WITH THE PICS ON THE WEB PAGE AND WHEN THEY SAW THE ROOMS WE GOT , THEIR REACTIONS WAS HEARTBREAKING!!!

No, I do not recommend this property.

Meagancake7

April 22, 2019

Villa was spacious

Enjoyed our 2 bdrm, 2 ba villa. Plenty of room and we loved cooking in the kitchenette in our room. We did eat out also as this Hill Country Resort is conveniently located to local restaurants and Brookshire’s grocery. It’s a short five minutes to Canyon Lake Marina. My only critique is the comfort of the pillows/bed was minimal. Enjoyed our stay very much.

Yes, I recommend this property.

cprhug

April 20, 2019

Rude and poorly managed

I'm so glad we were only booked to stay here for 2 nights because I'd be a lot more unhappy if we had paid for longer. When we checked in the front desk clerk, Ed, was so rude. My family had been in the car for hours and were excited to finally be at the resort. He immediately told my husband to take my younger boys outside so he could handle business. Um, ok. We had booked a "lodge" villa not knowing where it's a completely separate property down the road away from all the resort amenities we had paid dearly for. He then informed me he had placed our family of 5 in a 3rd floor room and when I asked if there was an elevator he said no asked they were so full for the holiday weekend he wouldn't check for another room. There was never more than a few cars in the parking lot the entire time we were there, so that obviously was not the case. When I was done with Ed I went to the other lady to try to get my parking pass. Of course this was the timeshare pitch and when I told her we weren't interested she rudely said, "Well I'm going to do my job and tell you about it anyway." Fine. Twenty minutes later I finally had my parking pass and we drove across the highway and down the road to the lodge villas, hauled all our stuff up to the third floor to find a poorly maintained villa. The faucet in the kitchen sink sprayed water in every direction and the lights in the kitchen flickered on and off. The toilets run constantly unless the handles are in just the right position. But since we were only there for 2 nights, we dealt with it. The layout of the villa was strange and my young boys were in a room with an exit door to the outside and had a connecting door to the ready of the villa where they could lock themselves inside with no way for me to open the door. Needless to say this made me nervous as a parent and was again glad we weren't staying longer. I was planning to do laundry on this leg of our journey since we had been traveling a week already at this point. I called the front desk to find out the location of the laundry facilities since I didn't see one in our room and was informed the laundry room was in the main building where I had checked in (down the road and across the highway). Great. We started to settle down for the night and found there were no sheets for the sofabed so we called the front desk again and they said they should be in the bathroom closet. They weren't so they said they would send some over. The lady that delivered them was nice. After closing the door we realized from hearing a persistent chirping noise that there were birds nesting over our front door (later we found out there were nests over most of the front doors and a large tree full of birds that create constant noise right at 3rd floor level). During our stay we never used the mini golf or pools because of our inconvenient location and other activities we had planned so I can't comment on the quality of those features. When we checked out I told the lady that there were some maintenance issues in the lodge villa and she said ok then checked me out without any concern whatsoever to find out what the issues were. I commented that she didn't seem concerned and she just smiled at me so I walked away, ready to go home. Wow. I don't recommend staying here, especially in the lodge villas. Your vacation dollars are better spent elsewhere.

No, I do not recommend this property.

Dorothy

April 13, 2019

Getaway

We were so impressed with the space of the rooms. Everything was clean and modern!

Yes, I recommend this property.