Due to winter storm damage, there is construction and restoration work taking place in some areas of the resort. Please be aware of potential dirt, noise and/or accessibility issues. Additionally, due to significant damage, villa availability has been reduced while we work on these restorations.

We use cookies to improve your browsing experience on our website, analyze site traffic and personalize content. By closing the message or continuing to browse this site, you agree to the use of cookies as explained in our Privacy Policy.

Skip to main content

hill country resort

Hill Country ResortRental Guest Reviews

3.9/5 

(463 reviews) 

powered by 

Each review and rating we receive is verified to ensure that we display only information provided by guests who have actually stayed at the resort. Write a Review

Gabe

June 23, 2019

Great staff and great place for kids

The check in process was simple and the staff was helpful. One of our friends brought her kids down for the day on Saturday and including mine we ranged been 4-14 years old. They had a blast between the pool, putt putt, and a skee ball championship. We got to relax as parents and most importantly the kids had a vacation to remember! Excited for our next stay!

Yes, I recommend this property.

Dani

June 22, 2019

Great place for a family reunion

Loved that they were able to accommodate our large family.

Yes, I recommend this property.

Not a happy camper

June 28, 2019

Not what it was three years ago.

Don’t bother staying here if you don’t plan on purchasing their vacation club points and not becoming an owner. Booked a 3 bedroom with spiderwebs in just about all rooms. They have different rooms and buildings for one night stays to a weeks stay, according to them they are in the process of overhauling the property since Holiday Inn purchased the deed three years ago. Burner on stove didn’t work. When you check in they try to sell their vacation club presentation by offering special pricing on tickets which they say can be modified on amounts but can’t after the presentation, and that they can give you extended stays or upgrades but the guy says it’s only for the owners, not if you decide not to purchase. Stayed three years ago, not staying there anymore.

No, I do not recommend this property.

aggiedwc

June 22, 2019

Wonderful value near New Braunfels

Enjoyed the Ambassador suites during our recent summer vacation. Really liked mini golf and the size of the units. Will stay here again. Good value.

Yes, I recommend this property.

Cheryl85

June 23, 2019

Water everywhere

I do not recommend Hillcountry Resort or IHG. We had a horrible experience with water coming up out of the floor, then the washer flooding the room and we have not been contacted by the resort for any type of compensation . 0 out of 5 stars!

No, I do not recommend this property.

Thesus1

June 16, 2019

Great service

Amazing getaway and well worth it. You can not best the availability as well as the distance away from home. The sights and amenities make it more than just a getaway.....it makes the kids feel like they are truly on vacation.

Yes, I recommend this property.

TxTBS

May 27, 2019

Great place to relax and have fun

We had a fabulous time at the Holiday Inn Hill Country Resort! So many fun things to do, good views of the lake, friendly people, great staff (thanks Sheryl :-)), good live music, drinks and s’mores plus more! We had such a great time that we booked again before we left and are bringing the kids and spouses with us too! Amazing value (especially if you have multiple kids or if you split the cost with another family) and can’t beat the full kitchens and charcoal grills! Looking forward to making more memories at the resort soon!!!!

Yes, I recommend this property.

Jess

June 16, 2019

Disappointed Guest

Our room flooded because the washer wasn't properly hooked up and were kept up late our last night so they could extract the water and nothing was offered to us. They said all rooms were full and didn't offer to reimburse our last night or anything. Also, they do not let you know that if you are in an ambassador you'll be across the highway and have to drive over to enjoy resort activities. I was told they would contact me after speaking to management but no one did and when I call they always say they will call back but no call back. No way to handle business.

No, I do not recommend this property.

Kitty

June 9, 2019

Loved it!

Loved everything about the resort, especially the amenities and the activities. The only reason why we didn’t choose 5 stars is because the bathrooms and kitchen in our unit could’ve been a little cleaner. Other than that, we loved everything else. Would highly recommend.

Texas Family

Don’t Stay Here!!!

Upon check in we were lied to that an upgrade was not available. We had to move rooms four times and took four hours due to dirty rooms. My family had to wait outside for four hours. We finally got a room and the hotel refused to credit me anything back for the issues. I had to call IHG customer service the next morning and the front desk every day. No one calls back. Finally, Cheryl agreeded that everything was wrong that was going on and it could have been handled. She credited my first night back and offered me $50 to use on food or drinks. This should have been done at the beginning so we didn’t have to keep dealing with it everyday of our trip. Worst stay and vacation ever. Oh, and I don’t need a stupid comment posted below that you are sorry and that is not what y’all want the resort to be like. Fix your customer service, housekeeping, and management. I will say the security guy rocks! You all could learn something from him...

No, I do not recommend this property.