Due to winter storm damage, there is construction and restoration work taking place in some areas of the resort. Please be aware of potential dirt, noise and/or accessibility issues. Additionally, due to significant damage, villa availability has been reduced while we work on these restorations.

We use cookies to improve your browsing experience on our website, analyze site traffic and personalize content. By closing the message or continuing to browse this site, you agree to the use of cookies as explained in our Privacy Policy.

Skip to main content

hill country resort

Hill Country ResortRental Guest Reviews

3.9/5 

(463 reviews) 

powered by 

Each review and rating we receive is verified to ensure that we display only information provided by guests who have actually stayed at the resort. Write a Review

Lissy14

August 12, 2018

Great place to stay!

Perfect location in the heart of the Texas Hill Country! We stayed in the Ambassador Suites and it exceeded our expectations!! Far away from the many amenities of the resort but we were so busy, we didn’t have time to enjoy them anyway! I did love that we had a pool in front of our room and took advantage of many late night swims. Also had a beautiful view of Canyon Lake!

Yes, I recommend this property.

brae724

August 11, 2018

We love the Hill Country!

We travel to the Hill Country every year! We loved this resort! The room was like a spacious apartment, staff was superb, pool and mini golf was a blast!

Yes, I recommend this property.

D.M.

August 10, 2018

Horrible Customer Service/Bad Smell

Better customer service (addressing customers standing at your front desk right in your face), have rooms available at home of check in (as you advertise 4pm) not over an hour later, cleaning the room properly including the smell (smoke-filled room). ACT LIKE YOU AT LEAST CARE WHEN A GUEST VOICES THEIR COMPLAINTS OR CONCERNS!!! SIMPLY SAYING I APOLIGIZE IS NOT ENOUGH!

No, I do not recommend this property.

Tennesse Nanna and Poppy

August 10, 2018

Great place for a Family Reunion

The Villas were extremely comfortable. Our 4 married children and kids each had a 2 bedroom witch was great. We cooked dinner for 17 people and everyone ate together in the Large Villa Suite. The pools were clean. The miniature golf was fun and in the shade. Lots of activities. There is a boat park up the road which is a bit inconvenient and there is no place for lake access for fishing on the property.

Yes, I recommend this property.

Klxray

Hour wait to check in. Reservation price changes

We rented 4 2-3 bedroom condos for my wedding party in July. My mom visited the resort in person and the front desk gave her a phone number to call to reserve rooms. We reserved 6 condos for the weekend about 6 months in advance and given a cancellation date incase we didn’t need all 6 condos. Later when we followed up about putting the room reservations on the guests own credit cards, we were referred to the local manager who altered our reservation, increased nightly rate, and moved our cancellation deadline to a month before our stay. once we realized we only needed 4 condos, the manager increased our nightly rate again!! It was clear at this point that the manager was taking advantage of us knowing that this was a wedding party.... letting go of two condos over a month before our stay was not hurting their business. I say that because our friends tried booking there and the entire resort was sold out that same weekend. We waited in line for an hour to check in on Friday. Our other guests had the same wait time on Saturday. Another guest in our group with physical limitations (handicap) called ahead and requested a ground floor unit but was assigned a third floor condo (there are no elevators). Our other guests room keys stopped working twice in one weekend. We will not stay here again.

Chris

August 4, 2018

Do not book here.

We did like that option to have a villa. We did not like that we saw two cockroaches in our room. They were large. We did not like how filthy the villa was presented. I do not think they do a good job cleaning at all. The floors and bathroom tubs/shower were very dirty.

No, I do not recommend this property.

Tpollard3

August 3, 2018

Not Happy at All

The staff was wonderful and friendly. When I addressed my concerns in the quality of the rooms, the managers handle the problem immediately. Even though, the rooms were still not what I expected. When we arrived in our rooms, there was food on the floor and in the corners, blood and stains on the sheets, the rooms were never dusted, no clean towels, hair in the showers, urine on the toilet, no flush handle to flush the toilet. Carpet was nasty filled with dirt and stains, looked like it hadn't been vacuumed or shampoos in months. I and my family will never return.

No, I do not recommend this property.

Emily

August 2, 2018

Trouble at check in

We had to wait for one hour because our room was not ready and on top of that we were given the wrong room.

KnockOut87

July 23, 2018

Holiday Inn was Great; Vacation Rental was Horrible

To my understanding, these are 2 separate entities. The Holiday Inn staff was extremely pleasant and helpful, especially Lisa from Louisiana (front desk). However, when we had to pick our parking passes up from Vacation Rentals, it started off our trip on a very sour note. They would not take “no” for an answer! First, they were very rude to my single friend and excluded her from conversation by she wasn’t married. I explained that we were not interested in doing the presentation and didn’t want anything from them, and no matter what I said they kept persisting. What’s worse is we’re basically holding our parking passes ransom, hoping I changed my mind. Then they had the NERVE to insult me saying “just because you have a bad attitude about Vacation rentals doesn’t mean you should ruin the experience for everyone else.” Um... excuse me?! The only person ruining our experience is you. Geez we’re these ladies trained by Manipulative Abuse Institute?

Yes, I recommend this property.

A/C Did not work

July 22, 2018

No A/C, No Communication From Management

Second night we stayed the A/C did not work. It got to 85 in the room. Worst night in a hotel. I called in and a manit. man came and changed completely clean filters. said he was getting off work and "call back in if it did not cool down, but nobody would be able to look at it until the morning". went to front desk that next morning and she had no idea we had called in or had a problem. Seems like a lack of communication. She seemed very sincere and said she would take my name and number and have the manager call me. well its been 5 days and no one has reached out yet. I sent an email with pictures to the front desk manager with no response.

No, I do not recommend this property.