WarningAs we continue to enhance your vacation experience, we will be adding pool gate locks during your stay. Your room key will be required to access these areas.

We use cookies to improve your browsing experience on our website, analyze site traffic and personalize content. By closing the message or continuing to browse this site, you agree to the use of cookies as explained in our Privacy Policy.

Skip to main content

orange lake resort

Orange Lake ResortRental Guest Reviews

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

4.2/5 

(3,530 reviews) 

powered by 

Each review and rating we receive is verified to ensure that we display only information provided by guests who have actually stayed at the resort. Write a Review

ddmc312

April 11, 2014

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Horrible Week

I had three families staying in three separate Villas.....our Villa was the worst. First day there, we had to call housekeeping to get our three rolls of toilet paper that was not in our room. The Villa did not look like it had been cleaned properly. Also on the first day we had to call again for the porch light because the plastic was melted off of the light and there was wasps making nests inside. Second day, we had to call for Ants crawling all over the carpet in the living room area, and come to find out there was food under the couch in the living room that they were getting to......again a sign the room was not cleaned properly. Found a peanut shell in one of the beds....which again told us that the room was never cleaned properly. Third day noticed carpet in master bedroom closet was wet and was wet all the way into the living room. Called for service and found out it was the AC that was leaking.....said they would come the next day to fix it but never did....in the meantime they had a blower trying to dry the carpet in the master bedroom which triggered a mildew smell throughout the bedroom and into the living room....which also triggered my allergies to flair up worse than they had ever been. All in all we had the worst experience ever!!! After complaining to the Manager, they did nothing for us because they said they were at full capacity.....halfway through they said they could move us to another room....but then told us that they were at full capacity. I will never stay at this Resort again, especially when management could not even at least give me the $100 credit that they offered me to sit through a 90 minute presentation....of which they did not want me to sit in....because I would have really let them know and everyone else know what they were in store for buying into a place like this.

No, I do not recommend this property.

JennD81

February 17, 2014

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Only negative thing I could ever say about our stay....

My family and I are big on traveling with cash, most are the complete opposite! I unfortunately was not prepared by bringing credit/debit cards with us and ended up having to go to a local drug store to purchase a pre-paid card, in which the staff there was not to familiar with the type of cards they were selling. Overall, our experience was top notch and we (entire family) cannot wait to come back again!

Yes, I recommend this property.

Mike in SC

April 20, 2014

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

disappointing.......

This was our 2nd visit to this particular resort, the previous time in 2012. After checking in at the main counter, I was whisked over to the concierge counter where after 10 minutes of telling the gentleman I wasn't interested in any of the deals and already had tickets he proceeded to get snippy and tell me that "well I guess there isn't anything I can do for you". As we approached our room, there were bags of trash and dirty linen sitting outside of it along w/ a spray bottle of cleaner sitting on the counter inside. After calling the front desk about this, we were directed to the Housekeeping dept. where no one answered. We called 4 more times over the coming days until finally after 3 days they came and removed the linen and trash. This place needs some serious customer service training.............

No, I do not recommend this property.

ITVTRAVEL

April 16, 2014

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Nice Property

The property was nice as well as the rooms. Check out at 10am was really not fair when check in is at 4p. This property has vacation club owners that the staff falls all over. No recognition for being an IHG plat rewards club member at all. Refused to give us a later check out time. When I requested in advance to be in a certain area the girl at the front desk said no and didn't check. She was a joy. They were giving everyone at the resort $20 coupons towards food and beverages, but not us reward members. I never got one. It had been torn off. The room was nice, but dirty when we checked in. Had to call to have them clean it and bring a clean blanket. They did so and followed up about it. The staff when out side made a lot of noise in the mornings woke us up at 7a. I don't know if I would go back. but it was a nice property with great pools.

dancamp34

April 14, 2014

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Orange Lake is going downhill

I've vacationed at Orange Lake Resort for 30 years and this last visit was awful. The employee (Marcus) at the golf clubhouse was rude and unprofessional. There were kids playing on the golf coarse which made us nervous about their safety. Room was very clean and housekeeper staff were excellent. Something has changed at O.L. it not for the good. Next year might be a good time to find another resort. Disappointed owner!!!

No, I do not recommend this property.

Monie10

April 13, 2014

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Uncomfortable stay

Experienced roaches in my 'villa' in the East Village so if you see several reviews about this, please know that they are not isolated incidents. Resort is very nice and spacious floor plan, but the roaches made for an uncomfortable stay.

No, I do not recommend this property.

Jen17

March 29, 2014

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

time sharing

Asked to attend a 90 minute presentation on check in to get some half price coupons for the facilities activities ( which on booking we thought were part of the package) it was actually 3 hours. Told if you say no thanks at presentation the facilitators will accept your answer.This was not the case. My husband was ridiculed and they tried to use myself and my family as an example referring to him at one time as selfish. Once they realized we were not buying we were shown the door - literally. We had to ask someone how to get back to our car. In the beginning we actually considered purchasing but we wanted to speak with our family first- this is not allowed. Then the nasty hard sell began. It put a sour taste in our mouth and a poor beginning to what should have been a great vacation. I would not go back. We were also not told how to initially get to our room, what to do with garbage during the week, we had to look for a bin and there is no housekeeping service. It would be helpful if the resort included housekeeping information in their room books and how to access the amenities. such as walking trail maps, golf and water amenities. I would recommend this resort with a caution about avoiding the time sharing presentation.

Yes, I recommend this property.

BlueRoom269

April 11, 2014

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Great resort and good service some requests not met

This was my families second visit to Orange Lake Resort. We stayed at the River Island Tower which is where we stayed 2 years ago as well. We decided to stay longer this time because we enjoyed our time there so much 2 years ago. We pretty much had the same experience and my family had a great vacation. My only criticism/sort of complaint is the last time we stayed on the top floor (I'm an IHG Gold member and I always request top floor) which is the 8th floor in this case. We requested the "garden" side which is opposite the waterpark because we enjoyed watching the fireworks from Disney World from our patio each night (I think most people request the waterpark side). I requested the top floor on this side again when I reserved the room 7 months in advance. I also called the week before our arrival to reiterate my preference. When I arrived I was told we were on the 7th floor. I re-requested my original preference to the receptionist. I was then told that the 8th floor is suites only. Knowing we had stayed on the 8th floor previously and it was not a suite I knew this was not true. But I just checked in as we were tired and wanted to get settled. Being on the 7th floor partially obstructed our view of the fireworks due to some trees and unfortunatley the last two nights our neighbors over our head seemed to be running a track meet. So that was somewhat dissappointing. From the parking lot I could clearly see the condo/rooms on the garden side 8th floor were clearly exactly the same as what we had on this visit and what we had on our prior visit. There is no way they were "suites". It appears the waterpark side may be suites but the side I requested were not. So overall we still had a great stay but it was marred slightly by the receptionist not being forthright about not meeting our requested preference and some slightly loud neighbors our last two nights. (I request the top floor for this very reason, no one is over you) I would recommend Orange Lake especially if you have a larger family. The Condo/rooms have quite a bit of space and are furnished very nicely. We will most likely be back but I will be disappointed if our requests are not met next time and may consider another location for our future Florida trips if that happens. I know preferences cannot be guaranteed but I have never had a problem with IHG hotels previously with most preferences. Especially with the considerable advance notice and follow up I usually give and gave in this instance.

Yes, I recommend this property.

FarmerBR549

April 4, 2014

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Best Family Vacation Resort

We had a excellent time at this resort. Our children did not want to leave the resort, because there was so many different activities for them to do--multiple swimming pools, lazy river, putt-putt golf, and organized sports activities. We are already planning a return trip.

Yes, I recommend this property.

KBWW

April 13, 2014

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Two day stay 11-12April2014

After my recent stay at your facility in Orlando I felt compelled to comment about your exercise facility(EF). As a Mother of a 10 year old my use of an exercise facility is an important part of the day but must be a scheduled visit. Your EF does not open until 7am. I inquired to the front desk staff if it was possible for me to enter the EF at 515am. I was told NO. When I asked why, "it is policy" was the answer. Never a great answer when you are over 16 years of age.. I travel every week for my job and I have never been denied a request to get into the exercise room early. It is always "at your own risk" no matter what is posted or where you go. Being denied the EF resulted in me having to go outside at 515am. This would not be so bad except your entire resort is without sidewalks. Later the same day I saw women with strollers staying close to the sides of the road as other guests sped by. I must also mention that the resort facility trucks drive very fast in the morning and many did not seem to notice me. I think vacation is about rest, fun and family in your resort. Though not for everyone, exercise may be part of it too. If it is few and far between, would it be terrible to accommodate those who want to exercise but require to get it in early so the rest of our morning CAN BE rest and family? Maybe there will even be a little left for Mickey Mouse too. Thank you Kimberly