We use cookies to improve your browsing experience on our website, analyze site traffic and personalize content. By closing the message or continuing to browse this site, you agree to the use of cookies as explained in our Privacy Policy.

Skip to main content

smoky mountain resort

Smoky Mountain ResortRental Guest Reviews

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

4.4/5 

(686 reviews) 

powered by 

Each review and rating we receive is verified to ensure that we display only information provided by guests who have actually stayed at the resort. Write a Review

mlneig

February 22, 2014

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

This is NOT a Hotel it is a Time Share!

By listing this time share club with other hotels is a true disservice. The first issue is that they do not have daily housekeeping. This was never made clear. The time share does supply towels and sheets, however these are not changed or cleaned during your stay. You are expected to wash and dry these items yourself. Second is there is no restaurant or room service available on site. There is a refrigerator and appliances to cook with but no food service. While this may appeal to families and others, it does not appeal to many other travelers. Again, this shortfall was not made clear. Third is the poor repair of room items and the lack of service and responsiveness to these shortfalls. I chose this “hotel” even though it was expensive for Gatlinburg, because it was highly rated and had an in-room whirlpool tub. The first day I was there the tub did not work. I went down to the front desk and told them. They wrote a note to maintenance to fix it. It was not fixed. The next morning I went to the front desk to complain that it wasn’t fixed. There was no desk clerk, just a security guard. He wrote another note. Again it was not fixed. That afternoon, I went back to the front desk for a third time to tell them about the non-working tub and was told they did not see any notes or maintenance tickets but would get it repaired. When I returned that evening it still did not work. I went to the time share hot tub near the pool that night at 11PM as the rules state that after 11PM, it is for adults only. There was a family there with a very loud, active, young child. When the security guard came by, I thought he was going to tell them they had to leave but he said since they were there the whole week they could stay. The second day of my stay, there was a large convention in town. 20,000 teenagers came to town with most of the time-share rooms being booked for these teenagers. Many rooms had 5 or more in a room. Although they were well behaved, teenagers tend to be loud. I know the convention was not the responsibility of the Time-share but they did have a responsibility to let me know when I booked my room that they would be there. I paid an extra $5 per day prior to check in to allow me to cancel any part of my vacation without notice. Because of the poor experience, I checked out a day early. When I went to check out, again there was no clerk, just a security guard who would not confirm that I would not be charged for the cancelled day. I asked him to leave a message for the manager to call me during the day. I know you will be surprised but I did not receive a call. That evening I called the hotel General Manager, Mr. Ward who listened to what I said but did not even apologize. All he kept saying was he was not going to comp me for the room. I never asked to be comped, all I wanted was an acknowledgment of the poor service and an apology. That never came. I have a 94 year old mother who I take care of. Between my full-time day job and my all night second job of “nursing” it was difficult to get away for a couple of days. I was looking forward to a quiet 3 day retreat of hot tubs and room service and just plain relaxing. Boy was I disappointed. I strongly suggest that due to high prices, lack of amenities, poor repair, total lack of responsibility and horrible customer service, you do not consider either staying at or purchasing this time share.

No, I do not recommend this property.

ken1962

February 20, 2014

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Cuddling good stay

Great building design makes it real easy to get to your room. My wife and I have limited mobility and it was not a factor at all! Wonderful view, great gas fireplace made for an inviting romantic getaway. We asked about walking to a restaurant (since we have trouble with distances) and the wonderful staff said "Just call and we'll come get ya'"...that's awesome service!!! Gatlinburg is not real busy in February so we were able to park close but I will never forget this kindness. And we were a little sore and tired when returning so a great quiet (some sound like motor boats; not this baby) hot tub was the perfect end to a perfect day.

Yes, I recommend this property.

Dustinm99

February 20, 2014

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Always a wonderful experience!

We have stayed at the Holiday Inn Vacation Club Gatlinburg four or five times now and we love it. The staff are very friendly and accommodating and the hotel is very well maintained. We love getting the rooms on the back where you can hear the waterfalls below, but even if you get the other side you have an awesome view of downtown Gatlinburg or the Mountains. We will be back again!!

Yes, I recommend this property.

Ash55

January 26, 2014

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Excellent property/Good location

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a nice weekend away. Upon arrival the staff was very friendly and accomodating in allowing us to check in early as well as proceed with the requests we had at booking. We were very pleased with the location of the property which was right off the parkway and within walking distance of all the shops and restaurants. I booked us a 1 bedroom King Villa which made us feel right at home. The room was very spacious and clean. We loved the fireplace and jet tub. I have already recommended this property to my coworkers and would def love to come back. I will see you guys again for my next trip to Gatlinburg. Until then, thank you very much and keep up the good work!!

Yes, I recommend this property.

MickeyandMinnie13

January 20, 2014

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Great Experience

Room was comfortable and had a lot of space. Everyone on staff who we ran into was very nice and helpful. Everything was in walking distance.

Yes, I recommend this property.

January 13, 2014

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Great stay

Originally booked a cabin but the owner failed to meet standards. Booked the holiday inn at the last minute and they gave me the best stay I could ask for.

September 27, 2013

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Great location, great 2 bedroom condo

I stayed in a 2 bedroom suite with my father for 4 nights. The suite was exactly as portrayed in the photographs on the website. It's spacious - the master bedroom has a very comfortable king bed, large flat screen TV, plenty of drawer space, full closet with safe, a jacuzzi tub, vanity, shower stall and water closet. The second bedroom has two full beds, large flat screen TV, and closet. There's a second bathroom off the hall next to the bedroom. Both bathrooms and jacuzzi had plenty of towels and lasted us the full 5 nights we were there with plenty to spare. The kitchen is very well appointed with full refrigerator, dishwasher, stove, large stackable washer/dryer in the closet in the kitchen, all small appliances you would need and dishes, silverware, pots, pans, cooking utensils - EVERYTHING you would ever need. There's a dining table that seats 6 easily. The living room was extremely comfortable and well decorated with a gas fireplace. The deck was accessed by sliding doors from both the living room and master bedroom. The staff was very friendly and said hello every time you saw them. The location was perfect. It is across the street from a very good pancake house, and is within walking distance to all the shops and restaurants in downtown Gatlinburg. There was a movie ("UP") being shown by the pool on Sunday evening. There was a bonfire in the firepit by the pool every night. There's a small game room with a pool table and I played a couple games of pool. I was not traveling with my husband, so I did not have anyone ask me to take part in the time share presentation. The parking garage was convenient and we had no trouble with getting our luggage and dad's ECV scooter from the car to the suite. There were luggage dollies by the elevator. It was a great place to stay and we had a wonderful time.

Yes, I recommend this property.

cincy chick

December 30, 2013

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Mixed feelings for the price

We stayed in a king suite for the advertised extra space and ammenities (whirlpool tub, separate living area, full kitchen, gas fireplace). All of those were really nice, but unfortunately we could hear every door slam, people running or stomping, and trucks at all hours of the night. The bed was comfortable but given the noise we didn't sleep well. Also this was supposed to be a relaxing post-holiday getaway for us but between the noise and the (no exaggeration) 25 PHONE CALLS to recruit us for the timeshare pitch, I would not call it relaxing. There is an indoor pool and hot tub for the winter but the chlorine level in hot tub was so high our eyes were burning. Pro's: Hotel is close to but also removed from the middle of the main strip in Gatlinburg (walking distance) and there is a pancake restaurant just across the street. Cons: We usually stay in a private chalet and for the price and noise, we REALLY missed it this time.

FamilyGetaway2013

December 31, 2013

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Fantastic New Year's Stay

We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa and loved it! The room was spacious and had everything we needed. We will definitely stay here again.

Yes, I recommend this property.

cottonc

December 25, 2013

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Pricey

the pace was average. I thought it was a little pricey. you pay for the location. the one in pigeon forge is just as nice. has a great indoor pool environment. and the halls to the rooms are indoors. that is a plus when you are wet from swimming in the pool and return to the room. the place was clean and the service was good also. but if you want to save a few dollars I recommend the one in pigeon forge.

Yes, I recommend this property.