We use cookies to improve your browsing experience on our website, analyze site traffic and personalize content. By closing the message or continuing to browse this site, you agree to the use of cookies as explained in our Privacy Policy.

Skip to main content

mount ascutney resort

Mount Ascutney ResortRental Guest Reviews

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

4.5/5 

(760 reviews) 

powered by 

Each review and rating we receive is verified to ensure that we display only information provided by guests who have actually stayed at the resort. Write a Review

Double Dee

June 15, 2014

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Beautiful area, great service,comforatble bed

Staff was very helpful. Food in dining room excellent, great lemon cheese cake. Room was fantastic views great.

Yes, I recommend this property.

Jim A B

June 13, 2014

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Great food, friendly & helpful staff, spacious & comfortable units

The staff are exceptionally helpful and cordial. We phoned ahead and learned from the evening desk clerk that if we arrived not too long after 8pm we could dine in the restaurant which closes at 9pm. When we checked in at 8:05pm we dropped our bags in the room and went straight to dinner. After dinner the clerk gave us maps and directions around the Brownsville bridge detour to Woodstock (our favorite VT town) and the Simon Pierce factory and outlet in Windsor to visit the next morning. The dining experience was not good - - it was outstanding! My wedge salad went well beyond the typical iceberg wedge and blue cheese; this one also included crumbled bacon and candied walnuts, with just enough dressing to pull it all together. My rib eye steak was very tender, cooked perfectly medium/rare and complemented by a mushroom sauce as good as you find anywhere. The accompanying yellow and zucchini squash was similarly cooked just enough without being overcooked and presented with a bit of onion, red pepper and parsley garnish to round out the flavor and add to the presentation. The potatoes served with an Alfredo type sauce were tasty and went well with the steak. Our only disappointment was that the chef’s lemon cheesecake specialty had just been prepared for tomorrow, and the chef insists that it “season” 24 hours before serving. Based on what we had just experienced, we were not surprised but impressed by his attention to detail and insistence on perfection. Our server was very attentive and enthusiastically provided information about outdoor activities available at the resort and nearby. We appreciated this even more given the fact that we were the last diners and it was 9:20pm when we left. We retired to the room in time to catch the last half of the NBA finals in the comfort of the unit’s nicely furnished living room. Our single bedroom unit was spacious, except for the bathroom, with a very nice kitchen and comfortable mattress. My only difficulty was with the voice recognition reservation process and ensuing reservations clerk. We’ll definitely be back.

Yes, I recommend this property.

sd12

June 10, 2014

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Did not feel like a resort

When we checked in, I was acknowledged as a Platinum member and was given 500 bonus points. We were given our room key and it was in another building. It did not seem that busy so I was not sure why we were in a different building We went to our room and discovered that the upstairs bathroom was very small and the bedroom was very cramped. We also had a great view of the garbage dumps. As a Platinum member, I was a bit surprised that we were given this room. When we checked out, I discovered that we had been upgraded with an adjoining room but we had never been told that and nor were we given a key. The manager told me she would talk to her staff to find out why this happened. The wireless at the resort does not work and if you are lucky enough to get a connection it is not for long. The breakfast costs money and is very limited. On the positive side, the bar and restaurant staff were very nice. Overall, it did not feel like we were staying in a resort. Very disappointing.

No, I do not recommend this property.

SoozieCanuck

June 6, 2014

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Turning sad into glad

No room at the inn where we needed to stay but just 20 minutes down the road was this beautiful oasis - a 2 bedroom "villa" that gave us the opportunity to sit and talk and decompress from a very long drive. We each had our own space, bathroom, and TV when we needed to be alone. All amenities were modern, up-to-date, and the whole space was clean and welcoming. The only things that would have made this stay even better was if it had been a vacation instead of a funeral, and if there was better food (had to scour local area for a good restaurant).

Yes, I recommend this property.

katiebird

May 23, 2014

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Katharine

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Ascutney Mountain in Vermont! Villa was very comfortable! Kitchen well outfitted and all was very clean. Could do with a bit more space in the bathroom since there was no space to place anything. Other than that all was very well. Great value! Thanks, Katiebird

Yes, I recommend this property.

Lisalisavi

May 17, 2014

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Oh so comfortable!

Love this place! Needed a place to stay for my graduation from VLS. Although a few miles away, this was the best place I could find and I absolutely loved it. The room was so very comfortable, clean and a place I wanted to spend more time in. The staff is oh so nice and I will be planning a trip back so I could really enjoy this resort and Vermont!!!

Yes, I recommend this property.

Sadie's Pepe

May 16, 2014

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Entire Package

Not only are you so very convenient to our family in Windsor but the atmosphere and staff were exceptional. The value is beyond compare and we look forward to staying with you folks again soon! Thanks so much for a lovely stay!

Yes, I recommend this property.

JanefromMaine

April 27, 2014

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Superb staff, nice rooms, pity about the heat

I was incredibly impressed with the friendly, positive, helpful attitude of all the staffers I encountered at Ascutney, especially Tawana and Angie on the front desk and Tim from maintenance. They went out of their way to keep us happy and comfortable, and if I return it will be because of them. The units were nice, VERY large, with plenty of privacy and convenience. We needed a unit with disability access, and while it was a longer walk from the elevator than I would have preferred, it was very user-friendly inside. The one significant issue was the climate control. When we arrived (on a Friday in April) the unit was incredibly hot. A staff member arranged for us to have some fans, but it still took hours for the place to cool off enough to sleep. This is not a maintenance issue but a management issue -- the building needs a climate control system that can maintain a consistent guest-friendly temperature. I recommend going in summer or winter, when it's clear what the climate control system has to do.

Yes, I recommend this property.

ewilling

April 23, 2014

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Great spot for business travel

If you have a chance to stay here during the week, you will not be disappointed. It is not that far off the beaten path but an absolutely perfect place to stay and keep your exercise routine in shape. Windsor, VT is close enough for places to dine. I will be back to ascutney again.

Yes, I recommend this property.

AJ morr

March 19, 2014

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Water and Heat Problems!!!!

This is the second time I'm writting this review. I guess the first one was to harsh (Not good for business# so it wasn't posted? At this resort you don't get what you paided for. We arrived on Sunday and were told there was a water ban for four days? Don't drink it unless you boil it but we have plenty of bottled water. #Just very little ice for the guests) The heat in the room was out of control so we turned it off. Didn't help so we opened the windows, still not enough so we turned on the Fans in the rooms!!!!!! So much for confort of there guests? Between the beds and heat it was unbearable at times!!!!! The gloomy fitness center didnt help much in taking away the pain. Clearly this resort is in need of major repairs!!! Thats what the GM told me himself!!! Customer service is not alive and well at this Resort!!!! Things need to change or like the ski resort next door there days are numbered!!!!! Sometimes the truth hurts but you make changes and you move on. We checked out a day early but would have left sooner had we not paided for Three days skiing in advance!!!!

No, I do not recommend this property.