We use cookies to improve your browsing experience on our website, analyze site traffic and personalize content. By closing the message or continuing to browse this site, you agree to the use of cookies as explained in our Privacy Policy.

Skip to main content

mount ascutney resort

Mount Ascutney ResortRental Guest Reviews

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

4.5/5 

(760 reviews) 

powered by 

Each review and rating we receive is verified to ensure that we display only information provided by guests who have actually stayed at the resort. Write a Review

Cmbrum

October 20, 2013

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

3 Day Stay

We stayed at the hotel for 3 days and we had a wonderful time everyone was so friendly and helpful. We stayed before when it was the Ascutney Inn and I feel Holiday Inn has kept with the Vermont feeling. Loved it. We are thinking of a summer vacation and we will stay here.

Yes, I recommend this property.

finagin

September 28, 2013

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

poor matress, poor front desk staff, did not even know there own hotel and where the rooms where.

hotel is in 3 or 4 different buildings. when we got there we when to the front desk ( 1 building) and was sent to another build with a room number, that room was not in that building. drive back to the front desk. was told the room was in another building. drove to that building and found the room. room was not cleaned. called front desk. was told to come back. drove back to the front desk. got a room in the main building. room was close to the sitting area. people talking all night and i could not sleep. also is the worse matress I ever slept on. I have been in cheap motels with way beter matresses. did no expect this from a hoiday inn with all the renovations they have done ( guess not at this place).

No, I do not recommend this property.

macawi

October 18, 2013

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Lovely spot for a quiet vacation

This is not the spot for lots of nightlife, shopping, etc. but is the perfect spot for a restful New England vacation. The scenery is lovely and the accommodations comfortable and quiet. There is a bar and restaurant with good food and service. (Thank you Christa!) The indoor pool is spacious and there are paths to wander--including a short walk to the little town of Brownsville. And if you prefer to drive, there are back roads in every direction leading to other little towns as well as easy access to the highway.

Yes, I recommend this property.

ILheadache2013

October 10, 2013

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Great stay for leaf-peepers

We stayed at the Ascutney Resort for 4 nights during our fall vacation. It was a perfect choice for several reasons. Its central location between Vermont and New Hampshire was convenient. Close to many area attractions. The suite accomadated our group of 3 couples nicely but could also handle more. Be great for a family. It had a spaceous kitchen/living/dining area. The 3 bedrooms each had a private bath and own TV. Good for privacy. Reasonable price, clean rooms, comfortable beds and execellent staff. Just a few minor critisims. Indoor pool in a separate building. Not convenient. Restaurant was short staffed. Ok if you're not in a hurry. Toilet paper filmsy. Probably biodegradable. if you decide to stay there ask for a fire in the outdoor fire pit. Good way to meet other people.

Yes, I recommend this property.

2OldCrows

October 12, 2013

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Very comfortable, roomy, updated and clean.

Excellent value for price paid. Was expecting a small kitchenette and actually was a full condo style room. Modern, updated and clean. Bed very comfortable, however, room so small that it was a tight squeeze for 2nd person to get around to other side of bed. Furniture too big for the room. Bathroom adequate but also small and tight. The only downside is, we were not informed that it is not like a hotel with cleaning services everyday and fresh towels everyday. We had to request a towel each and every day and go to the front desk for them and take out our own trash - not a big deal, but a little weird for such a nice place? We were told it was a time-share turned hotel without the daily maid service.

Yes, I recommend this property.

OkieOK

October 8, 2013

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Beautiful facility,remote area,very nice front desk staff but horrible housekeeping and bar staff

Beautiful facility but in very remote area! Housekeeping horrible...wet towel, only 1 use of toilet paper left in room when we arrived. Left 2messages on housekeeping ANSWER machine for toilet paper..called front desk...no paper after his request...drove to front desk and finally after day of sightseeing we had 2 rolls outside our door....the day after we arrived! Went to bar for drinks since advertised live music....drove over and was never waited on! After several attempts, left. I have to say Julia at registration was very very nice, friendly , professional as was man there next day. It's a shame that the management allows such poor service at such a beautiful place.

No, I do not recommend this property.

OrangeLakeOwnerRP

October 7, 2013

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

One night as an owner at Mt. Ascutney

My wife and I are owners at Orange Lake and had the opportunity to spend one night at Mt. Ascutney. I booked a 1 BR unit about a week before our arrival. We arrived quite late and our first question was where we could get some dinner. As it was 10 minutes before closing the front desk suggested we go have dinner first and then register. Good advice because there is nothing else around! We ate at Browns Tavern right there in the main building. Bar tender, Ken, was very friendly and ordered our food promptly. We enjoyed our sandwiches and cocktails while listening to live entertainment that was in the establishment. Afterwards we checked in to a 1 BR unit. The unit was very nice and well appointed. We found it odd that they had such a large chest of drawers in the bedroom. This left little room between the end of the bed and the chest - and if the drawers were open, forget it. Not a big deal, just a little odd. The bathroom was nice and clean but pretty small. I don't think HICV can do much about that, just an observation (we are used to more space at Orange Lake). It would be nice if there was a separate switch for the light and the fan. As we toured the property the next day, we found all the staff to be very friendly and enthusiastic about all the upgrades that are being made at the resort. We learned that the Mt. Ascutney ski area is owned by another entity and is currently not open for business. That has not affected the resort's occupancy though because there are several other ski areas nearby. We were told that the resort has been busy all summer. We made the trip so we could enjoy the fall foliage in Vermont and were not disappointed. We will be back again and would recommend it others.

Yes, I recommend this property.

October 5, 2013

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Fall visit

Stayed in a one bedroom villa. 10/1-10/5. it was clean and comfortable. It was also on the first floor.This was our second time at ascutney. The staff as always, were very friendly and helpfull. We did have a problem for two days of our stay with the people in the villa above us. They had several children with them. They would go out on the deck at about 7 am. every morning and shout. After that it seemed like they were practicing gymnastics for acouple of hours. I can't blame the folks at ascutney for the poor manners of there guests. Next time I will only stay in a villa on the top floor like our first time there. Aside from the rude guests we had a wonderful time.

Yes, I recommend this property.

jackie12345678

October 1, 2013

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

Great service and great value

This was the best stay on our 2 week trip. Jay at the front desk was amazing. The room was beautiful. The only complaint is that the bathrooms were small.

Yes, I recommend this property.

3303mom

September 29, 2013

Star IconStar IconStar IconStar IconStar Icon

small room, no service

My husband and I stayed here for the VT 50 race. The room was extremely small and had a sloped ceiling. My husband would have hit his head getting out of bad and I couldn't stand up straight to get around the end of the bed. The bathroom was also uncomfortably small. This might have been fine had we been told in advance that we were paying for a miniature room. I may have stated at the time I reserved the room that we didn't need new sheets on the second day. I think that is wasteful for a 2 night stay but we received no housekeeping services at all. The trash was not taken and the coffee supplies were not replenished. We did call and ask for coffee twice before someone came up with coffee but no cups. These are beautiful buildings in a beautiful place but, overall, I was disappointed.

No, I do not recommend this property.