We use cookies to improve your browsing experience on our website, analyze site traffic and personalize content. By closing the message or continuing to browse this site, you agree to the use of cookies as explained in our Privacy Policy.

Skip to main content

south beach resort

South Beach ResortRental Guest Reviews

4.4/5 

(886 reviews) 

powered by 

Each review and rating we receive is verified to ensure that we display only information provided by guests who have actually stayed at the resort. Write a Review

AKIng

March 10, 2019

Not what I expected

By the online pictures, I was expecting several pools and hotubs. I was expecting to be close to the ocean. I expected an onsite restaurant and bar. What I got was a shuttle to the ocean, a view of an empty pool in a dark, shady corner of the resort, and a drive to the tinyest indoor pool I’ve ever seen. The 2 bedroom villa was poorly appointed - three adult sized forks, five plates of each size, no coffee filters. We are a family of 5. Dishwasher is pointless when you don’t even have enough dishes to get through one meal. At check in we were told of a great deal for show tickets ... of course that turned into a big sales presentation. We were booked for 6 nights - we stayed one. We were promptly refunded when we expressed our disappointment and checked out shortly after waking up.

No, I do not recommend this property.

LasVegasMikey

March 5, 2019

My worst ever HI experience

Part of this is on me. I didn’t even stop to think that I was getting into a timeshare rental- or as the girl at the front counter corrected me: vacation rental. I got distracted by the name and booked a couple of nights at a seaside resort. Obviously this place didn’t meet my expectations but that isn’t my chief complaint. The room we were assigned was substandard, even by vacation rental standards. We were given the ‘small lockout section’ of a larger suite. It was well-worn (the torn up carpet was the worst - it actually had holes in it) and room hadn’t experienced a proper deep cleaning in some time. But I digress. We immediately canceled our second night and tried to get out of the initial night as well but were told it was too late because we had already entered the room. The next morning at check out I complained again about the size and condition of our lockout. To which they responded: ‘Didn’t you pay with reward points? That’s the standard room for people paying with points.” I have been a ‘Spire’ member since the first year the classification was created. With over 100 nights per year spent in HI’s (not counting the other brands) I know what it’s like to have someone genuinely greet me and say that they are glad I chose their hotel. This was the first time EVER that I’ve been treated as an inferior because of my participation in the loyalty program. I’m glad that I never have to experience this ‘resort’ ever again. It’s just too bad that it cost a night of my life - not to mention too many reward points.

No, I do not recommend this property.

Jenny0104

March 3, 2019

Great rooms and close to beach!

We stayed at this hotel while in town for the half/full marathon. We arrived 2 hours before check in and the lady at the front desk was able to go ahead and check us in. The rooms were spacious and clean. It was nice having a kitchen and living room area. The only thing I noticed that was dirty was the windows. I told my husband he needed to talk to management since he is a window cleaner lol. But other than that everything was clean. The indoor pool and hot tub was great especially after running the race. The hotel is really close to the beach and they have a nice pool area right on the beach. We would definitely stay here again if back in the area!

Yes, I recommend this property.

Rainbow Brite

February 17, 2019

Felt like i was at home

This was my second time staying here. Once again the staff was great! Easy check in. Room was clean. I felt like i was at home. Will def be back again!

Yes, I recommend this property.

Melberta

February 24, 2019

Great place

First chance to get away in months. This was a great place. Can't wait to go back!

JResnick

February 19, 2019

Enjoyed Every Moment

Had a two night stay with my nine year old nephew. We started with a flawless check-in from Deb. Our room was better than expected. The indoor and outdoor pool were great as were the hot tubs. I would just say the outdoor pool should be better heated in the winter. There are many activities to keep kids busy and the staff is great at administering them. We would be very happy to stay here again if in Myrtle Beach.

Yes, I recommend this property.

BlancZ

February 20, 2019

Nice place to stay

This is a nice place to stay except is not ocean front. Everything was okay except my horrible shower experience. The shower head wasn’t working. Water pressure was horrible and no matter how I switched shower head settings nothing gave me the amount of water needed to properly take a good shower. It was barely dripping water. I recorded a video but can’t upload it here. It also took me FOREVER to shower because I had to keep regulating the water temperature because when the water kept pausing and trying to create water pressure the water temperature would also change. It was really frustrating. Besides that everything else was okay.

Yes, I recommend this property.

Mommy2Four

February 10, 2019

Great Place to stay

We stayed in a two bedroom villa, LOVED the size of the rooms, the jacuzzi tub was a Bonus I did not expect that, and the laundry is the villa was so convenient. I would definetely recommend to anyone wanting to stay in this area.

Yes, I recommend this property.

Mongo76

February 18, 2019

Nice stay ruined by club staff

I hate to leave a nagative review but what I dealt with during my stay I feel it’s necessary. First off...I did not book to be a part of the Holiday Inn Club Resort portion; my wife and I wanted to stay close to the beach and I stay with IHG hotels. It was a good deal so I booked it. When I checked in I think I was comp’d an upgrade because I was given a two bedroom villa. Okay...i’ll take an upgrade. The next day we received 4 phone calls to the room starting at 8:00 in the morning and when I picked it up each time no one answered. Friday morning, 3 phone calls also starting at 8:00. Finally, the 9:30 phone call to the room someone was on the other line. It was from Holiday Inn’s “tele-team” wanting me to participate in the presentation describing the Holiday Inn Club membership...told me it’d be 20 minutes long and I’d receive 30,000 points due to being a Platinum Elite member. So I agreed for 9:00 on Saturday. This is where the “fun” begins. About 8:50 I receive a call wondering where I’m at and why I’m not checked in yet. I told them not to worry and I’m on my way down. I get to the check in desk and someone canceled me out of the presentation. While I was being added in...and after being told it is a 90 minute sales presentation and not 20, I was asked where my wife was. I told the Club desk that due to her medical conditions she will not be attending and needs to rest but I’ll do the presentation for both of us. All of the sudden the mood changed from nice and chipper to stern and told I cannot participate alone. No reason as to why I can’t attend solo, just that I was told I can’t do it solo and my wife must attend to receive the 30,000 points. So I said cancel the presentation since I didn’t originally plan it for my stay in the first place. All this time, my wife (who was trying to rest) kept getting call after call to the room almost “demanding” why she wasn’t downstairs...being very rude and not sympathetic for someone who repeatedly said she was ill and trying to rest. After the 3rd call to the room my wife finally told the lady to stop calling and hung up the phone. Then, I find out I was going to be charged a missed appointment fee...I don’t think so. After being bounced around between the Club reception area, the front office and 6 different people on the phone...all of them not being able to tell me why they can’t remove the missed appointment time from my room I finally got through to the original lady that booked my appointment. Out of all the people I dealt with that day, she seemed like the only one with any kind of sympathy for my wife and immediately reversed the charge. She asked me if I wanted to reschedule and I told her no because I was so amped up I almost packed out and left. But I had one more day left, might as well try to enjoy it. During checkout today, the front desk asked how my stay was (I think she forgot who I was because she worked the front desk on Saturday), I told her the marketing staff made my stay horrible and I will not be returning to this location. She asked why I didn’t let her know about it...I told her I did. When I said that, her attitude changed very quickly and handed me my bill. Not offering any kind of assistance to make up for the goat rope on Saturday...just “here’s your bill, have a nice day.” I’m sure there are several happy people that stayed at this location and it is a very nice place. Just be careful to what you might agree to. Needless to say this Platinum Elite memeber will be staying somewhere else in Myrtle Beach on my next stay.

No, I do not recommend this property.

KimMc44

February 11, 2019

Excellent

I loved it and is greatful of the quite time and being able to relax with my husband..

Yes, I recommend this property.